Adventures of a FAB Fabric Mailer: Part 2

For those of you who read my last post on my DIY fabric mailer envelope, here is your update as promised!

It made it!

My lovely sister-in-law was gracious enough to email me some pictures of its condition when it arrived and it looks like it did really well. She said it had some pink markings on the fabric from the postal stamp but we won’t tell her that may have actually been from my daughter messing around with pink chalk near my fabric. I had stuffed it with some sidewalk chalk and a little bug box for my very inquisitive niece and nephew to keep and examine any bugs they deemed “pet” worthy. Here they are opening the package.

mailer made it

So now that we know a fabric mailer will successfully make it through our postal system, it’s time to do a little how-to. Feel free to watch the video below on the making of a new mailer. I have a feeling I am going to make a boat load of these. I mean, what a great way to send a gift. It’s really easy to make, and it’s reusable, so the recipient can send someone else a gift as well!

A few notes to add: I lost my videographer at some point (see: kids needed hubby and I was on my own) so I didn’t get to show the entire project but I think you got the idea. I also decided after the video was made that I wanted to reinforce the edges of the window with some bias tape on the inside, to make it look neater and give it a little more strength. Another difference from the first mailer was that I didn’t double roll down the top flap to close it. Instead I added Velcro to the inside of the window pocket to keep it shut.

  Here you can see the two pockets and you can see where the address paper is slipped into the window pocket.

    That’s one of my large laundry bags folded up and packed in there!

  And here are a couple more pictures just because I love these fabrics. They are so bright and cheery!

Thanks for reading and watching! If you have any questions about how this was made, comment below!

Linkin’ up over at http://www.craftaholicsanonymous.net/friday-finds-link-party-4-3-15

Home Matters Linky Party - Grab Button

Linkin’ up on Monday over at http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/inspiration-monday-linky-party-48/

Linkin’ up on Monday over at http://merryabouttown.com/monday-funday-linky-party-april-6th/

Linkin’ up on Wednesday at: http://sewcraftyangel.blogspot.com/2015/04/wake-up-wednesday-linky-party-63.html

Linkin’ up on Thursday at:
Photobucket
“Inspire

http://www.3littlegreenwoods.com/show-me-saturday-linky-party/show-me-saturday-linky-party-27/

Linkin’ up on Sunday over at:

2 Crochet Hooks

17 thoughts on “Adventures of a FAB Fabric Mailer: Part 2

    • Thank you so much! If you make one, let me know how it goes or send me a pic. I would love to see how it turns out! Your A=Z blogging challenge is looking great, by the way! Thanks for checking out my blog!

      Like

  1. Great tutorial!! I love this idea and am ready to reuse mine. Your sense of “what if” and “could I” is an encouragement and a challenge to me. Fabulous!

    Like

  2. This is so cute! Getting non-bill-related mail is so exciting, and getting something in this would be even more awesome! Love the fabric you chose too!

    Like

    • Thanks! It’s true, I love getting snail mail that isn’t a bill. So much technology these days, which is great, but I do miss the days when I would actually write letters and get letters from friends. I’ll definitely be making more of these and sending them around! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I just LOVE this! I so love sending and receiving snail mail and this is such a creative idea to make the letter/package extra special. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

